Ock Joo-hyun Inspired to Instruct Students in Stage

March 14, 2009 at 12:34 am | Posted in Stars | Leave a comment
Tags:

Singer Ock Joo-hyun will teach courses in singing and musicals at Dong Seoul College. Ock, who debuted in 1998 as the member of famous group Finkl, went solo in 2003 and has since released three albums under her own name. She began her musical career in 2005, including starring roles in “Aida,” “Chicago” and “Cats.”

“I will try my best to transfer the hands-on experience and knowledge accumulated from my 11-year career to my students,” said Ock. “I became a member of Finkl that everyone in this country knows, and worked harder and harder until I hardly had time to realize my fame. There are things that went the way I had wished and things that didn’t throughout my career, but I feel especially attached to being a radio DJ and musical actress, because these are the areas that I poured out my energy the most and received the greatest sense of fulfillment.”

Ock said she was often asked if singing onstage was difficult when she first started performing in musicals. “Frankly, I didn’t really feel that it was difficult. I have worked with a number of world-famous musical teams, and they said my strength was vocalization,” said Ock confidently, “Those who had long, extensive voice training in classical music struggle to produce their natural voice, but because I stopped classical training in order to become a pop singer, I can move freely between a natural voice and falsetto. They told me that I use the same vocalization technique as Broadway actresses do, and that I have a natural sense of tempo.”

Ock is currently on a nationwide tour of the musical “Cats,” and plans to release a new album in the summer.

Source: Digital Chosunilbo
Credit: seoulfull.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

