Filmmakers Honored at the 29th Blue Dragon Awards

November 20, 2008 at 11:43 pm | Posted in Events, Movies | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

The 29th Blue Dragon Awards was held Thursday night to honor the year’s top films and filmmakers.

This year’s Blue Dragon Awards’ best film honor went to “Forever the Moment,” a moving film based on a true story about how the Korean women’s handball team overcame the odds to win the silver medal at the 2004 Athens Olympics. The film’s co-star Kim Ji-young also won the best supporting actress award. Its producer, Shim Jae-myung, said that he wanted to make an inspirational film about people outside the spotlight.

Kim Yun-seok of the year’s top thriller “The Chaser” was honored with the best leading actor award and Son Ye-jin of the romantic comedy “My Wife Got Married” was named the best leading actress. This year’s top grossing film “The Good, the Bad, the Weird” directed by Kim Ji-woon garnered four awards – best director, cinematography, art direction, and the movie attracting the most moviegoers. Comedy “Crush and Blush” directed by newcomer Lee Kyung-mi went away with the best new director and best screenplay awards.

There was a touching moment when the late actress Choi Jin-sil was commemorated and given an honorary popularity award. Actor Ahn Sung-ki, who co-starred with her in “North Korean Partisan in South Korea,” commented that she had always been a cheerful mom and actress and that her works will forever be remembered in people’s hearts.



Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: